Iowa Engineering Society's statewide mathematics competition encourages and rewards math excellence in our state's middle and junior high schools. Iowa Engineering Society members reach hundreds of young people every year.

Iowa Engineering Society Chapters typically hold their competitions in February and state finalists compete at the State Competition.   The State Competition will be Thursday, March 22, 2018 at the DMACC campus in Ankeny.

Visit for more details. Also, see below for a list of the Iowa Engineering Society State Chapter Coordinators.

Chapter MATHCOUNTS Coordinators

The MATHCOUNTS Chapter Coordinators for the current year's competition are listed below. They look forward to your involvement, either financially or by assisting at the Chapter competitions.

Blackhawk Chapter & Rock River Chapter

Mark Harpole, P.E.
(563) 324-3491

Cedar Rapids Chapter

Tim Wiles, P.E.
(319) 365-0961

Central Iowa Chapter

Kristen Johnson, P.E.
(515) 689-2672

Dubuque Region

Daniel Gonzalez

Grenville M. Dodge Chapter

John Rasmussen, P.E.

Herbert Hoover Chapter

Justin Humke

Ashley Pasakarnis

Muscatine Chapter

Eric Kamm

North Iowa Chapter

Michael Danbury, P.E.

Northeast IA Chapter

Mark Durbahn, P.E.

Northwest Iowa Chapter


Southeast Iowa Chapter

Tyler Craff
(515) 472-5145


Jill Huntley or Justin Scott

Founding Sponsors: National Society of Professional Engineers, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, CNA Foundation.

National Sponsors: Raytheon Company, U.S. Department of Defense Education Program, Northrop Grumman Foundation, Bezos Family Foundation, National Society of Professional Engineers, ConocoPhillps, CNA Foundation, Texas Instruments, ThinkFun, 3M.

Iowa Sponsors: Patricia Boddy, P.E., Urbandale; Michael Lustig, P.E., Des Moines; Allender Butzke Engineers, Inc., Urbandale; Bolton & Menk, Inc., Ames; HGM Associates Inc., Council Bluffs; Home Depot, Des Moines; Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines; I & S Group, Storm Lake; JFSCO Engineering, P.C., Red Oak; Kirkham Michael Consulting Engineers, Urbandale; R.S. Stover Company, Marshalltown; MUSCO Corporation, Oskaloosa; Stanley Consultants, Inc., Muscatine; Plaza Printers, Inc., Urbandale; System Management & Balancing, Inc., Waukee; Sundquist Engineering, P.C., Denison; Vermeer Corporation, Pella; The Underground Company, Carlisle; Wayne Claassen Engineering, Waterloo; Winnebago Industries, Forest City.